Paper Towns Book Review

Paper towns book review paper-towns-john-green-1

Plot summary: ‘Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life — dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge — he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues — and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.’

I’m going to start off this review by saying this is my second favourite John Green book I have thus far read although I have still not read Looking for Alaska.

The book was split up into three parts, the first part was the revenge scheme which was probably one of my favourite parts of the book, I loved seeing what Margo had planned and who she would be seeking revenge on and for what reasons. Even though there schemes weren’t exactly to the level Katherine Pierce’s revenge plans they were very fun, slightly predictable and high school-ish, which is what they are. The first section is the only part of the book where we get to see Margo and Q interact with each other, and understand there complicated relationship with each other.

The second part of the book is focused on Q, searching for clues on Margo’s whereabouts, it is the longest section and at times could be a bit boring but only because they hit a wall with the clue finding. I enjoyed seeing Q’s relationship with his friends and Lacey and feel like we got to know the characters really well and they all had their individual traits. I thought it was very smart the way the clues were set out and to be honest I doubt I could of figured any of it out.

The third part of the book was the road trip and the finally finding Margo. The road trip was really funny, I read that whole bit in one sitting-Also one of my favourite parts of the book. The finally meeting with Margo was so anti climatic, not for the reader but for the characters, I genuinely felt a bit of hatred for Margo at that point I realised how selfish she was being throughout this book.

Rumour has it that it will be turned into a movie which would be very exciting after the huge success of TFIOS (which was incredible), also correct me if I am wrong but Q will be played by Nat Wolff who played Isaac in TFIOS, which I am ALL for. He was my favourite character in TFIOS and would make an excellent Q.

Song that reminds me of this book: Broken strings- James Morrison ft Nelly Furtado.

Throughout the book there was a lot of references to broken strings and all I could think of was this song.

Favourite quote: ‘What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person’

Leave a Reply

