Shadow kiss by Richelle Mead book review

Shadow Kiss

Plot synopsis:shadow

Is Rose’s fate to kill the person she loves most? It’s springtime at St. Vladimir’s Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since Mason’s death, Rose hasn’t been feeling quite right. She has dark flashbacks in the middle of practice, can’t concentrate in class, and has terrifying dreams about Lissa. But Rose has an even “bigger” secret . . . .She’s in love with Dimitri. And this time, it’s way more than a crush. Then Strigoi target the academy in the deadliest attack in Moroi history, and Dimitri is taken. Rose must protect Lissa at all costs, but keeping her best friend safe could mean losing Dimitri forever…

Shadow Kiss, the third book in the Vampire Academy series- and my favourite so far. From the very first page we see Rose’s character develop, as we see her coping with the loss and guilt over her friend Mason dying. Honestly I thought seeing Rose grieve and how she feels about it was sadder than him actually dying.

I loved the idea of the field experience, I thought it was very fun and before she got her partner (she thought it was going to be Lissa) we knew it wasn’t going to be Lissa. Rose so over reacted about getting Christian, he’s not that bad. C’mon Rose.

I think we need to have a little talk about Adrian. Yes again. I love his character, I think he’s my favourite in the series. He’s just so funny. We need even more Adrian in the next book. I felt kind of bad for him at the end of the book. Also I really like how he’s not a student but he’s not a teacher either, therefore he can do whatever he wants.

I liked how we got to explore more places in this world in this book, and learn a bit more about the royals when we went to the Royal Court, I loved that trip, it got me asking so many questions like what the hell is happening to Rose? How did Adrian convince them to be taken there? And what the hell is Tatiana’s problem? (I still cant believe what she talked about to Rose)

This book had such fast pacing, there was never a boring moment. The writing style just makes it so quick and easy to read and has just the right amount of detail.

The ending of this book is probably the one so far that has made me want to pick up the next book immediately.

Anyways you guessed it 5/5 stars.

I’ve also been thinking of making these into more of book discussions so I can discuss in more detail with spoilers of what I thought of the book and my reactions to what is happening, so let me know what you think?

Favourite quote: You will lose what you value most, so treasure it while you can

A song that reminds me of the book: From now on we are enemies- Fall out boy

It kind of reminds me of how Rose thought she was going insane because she kept seeing ghosts. Also the line ‘I only want what I cant have’ DIMITRI! Also when she tested the theory by almost kissing Adrian.

One thought on “Shadow kiss by Richelle Mead book review

  1. Pingback: July wrap up | Bookishrebels

Leave a Reply

