Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead book discusion

last sacrificeLast Sacrifice

Plot synopsis:

Rose Hathaway has always played by her own rules. She broke the law when she ran away from St. Vladimir’s Academy with her best friend and last surviving Dragomir princess, Lissa. She broke the law when she fell in love with her gorgeous, off-limits instructor, Dimitri. And she dared to defy Queen Tatiana, leader of the Moroi world, risking her life and reputation to protect generations of dhampir guardians to come.

Now the law has finally caught up with Rose – for a crime she didn’t even commit. She’s in prison for the highest offense imaginable: the assassination of a monarch. She’ll need help from both Dimitri and Adrian to find the one living person who can stall her execution and force the Moroi elite to acknowledge a shocking new candidate for the royal throne: Vasilisa Dragomir.

But the clock on Rose’s life is running out. Rose knows in her heart the world of the dead wants her back…and this time she is truly out of second chances. The big question is, when your whole life is about saving others, who will save you?

The first big part of this book was getting Rose out of Jail…or else she would be executed for treason. Already just writing that you know it is going to be an awesome book. I thought it was quite smart how they did it and it just reminded me of a scene from a movie so much but I cant quite put my finger on what it was. All I know it was badass.

After escaping, we still had no idea what was going on- like Rose. Then we discovered that the plan was for Rose, Dimitri and Sydney to just stay in a hotel in hiding until Lissa and the gang could figure out who killed the Queen. Yeah like that was going to happen. The way Rose escaped was just cruel to Dimitri, kissing him to distract him and then punch and run. That was mean Rose.

Then she finally realised she could do something after all- finally. I didn’t understand why she hadn’t thought of it before. She needs to find lissas sister.

But sadly with all the commotion Rose made they have to leave the comforts of the hotel- instead they go to The keepers. These are moroi and dphamir who do not live in modern day society. And it was really…weird.

I thought it was funny when that guy asked Rose to marry him and then she had to fight his sibling to see if she was worthy. Then Dimitri was just laughing and not even trying to help. Poor Rose, that makes three boys who are in love with her, not counting Mason.

Even though they are the bad guys I kind of liked Victor and Robert. I really wanted to know what they were up to and why they were helping.

Once we reached Sonya Karps house I knew what was going to happen, she would become moroi again, and she’s actually not as crazy as I thought she would be, but that is mainly due to Roberts healing, it will come back over time.

So we finally find out where this mystery Dragomir is and when we get there it was Jill. There was a few hints at who it could be during the book and I cant believe I didn’t think of her. However that wasn’t the most shocking thing to have happened in the story. I was shocked but I wasn’t blown away.

With Lissa now doing the trials in order to be a candidate to become the new queen, I knew where this story was heading. Lissa would become Queen. I really liked the trials what she did, the first one was kind of like The hunger games minus the killing people…basically she just had to survive on her own in the wilderness. The second trial was like the fear landscapes in Divergent where she had to face all her fears. /i felt really bad for her on that one. And the third was a question what she had to answer. I had no idea what she was going to say for that one.

Then Victor and Robert kidnapped Jill, no it was going so well! But in consequence to that we got that tent scene with Dimitri and Rose. I felt really bad for Adrian. He was going to be heart broken when he finds out. I cant wait to find out what happens with Adrian in the bloodlines series though, seeing as he is my favourite character.

When Rose killed Victor, I felt bad for both of them. Victor didn’t deserve death but he could do one day, I have a feeling his plans would of went far worse. But Rose had just killed a moroi.

Lets skip to when we are back at court, and everything is going to be revealed. I was expecting a huge commotion over Jill. But it wasn’t that bad, well after Daniella confirmed it.

Then they revealed who killed the Queen and I was shocked! This was the most shocked I had been. I cant believe Tasha Ozera did it. That is going to look very bad for the Ozera name now. It all made sense though. That’s when all the commotion started.

Then Rose got shot defending Lissa. I was quite sad to see the bond go now. I think Rose felt a bit lost without it.

I felt bad for Adrian too, when him and Rose talked about there relationship. šŸ˜„ Don’t worry Adrian you will find love in the spin off series.

There was a lot of things unanswered in this book which I am looking forwards to be answered in the spinoff series.

So once again 5/5 stars. This may be my new favourite series.

Favourite quote- “Rose, I’m an addict with no work ethic who is likely going to go insane. I’m not like you. I’m not a super-hero.” “Not yet,” I said.”

A song that reminded me of the book- Only one- Alex Band

One thought on “Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead book discusion

  1. Pingback: July wrap up | Bookishrebels

Leave a Reply

