The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead book discussion

The Indigo Spellindigo

Plot Synopsis:

An ancient magic. A heart-wrenching decision… Sydney Sage is an Alchemist. She protects vampire secrets – and human lives. In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she is struggling to decide between following her Alchemist teachings – or her heart. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch, a former Alchemist who is now on the run. As Marcus pushes her to rebel, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as Sydney searches for the person attacking powerful young witches, she realizes that she must embrace her magical blood – or else she will be next.

I really like the difference between this series and the Vampire Academy series. The VA series was much more of a vampire book where as the Bloodlines series is more of a witchy book. I have never really read a witchy book (unless you count Harry Potter) and it has really opened my eyes to this sort of theme in books and I will definitely check some more witch books.

If you guys have any suggestions let me know!

I liked the introduction of the new character Marcus, I am sure he will play a very important role in the next books. I actually thought he was going to turn out to be a love interest to Sydney but by the end of the book I am pretty sure that is not going to happen. I really like the scene with the fight between Adrian and him. Ah Adrian defending Sydney’s honour. Even if she didn’t particularly want it defended.

Near the beginning of the book it was the wedding scene and I was so happy to see some of the older characters from the books. I loved seeing Rose and Dimitri together as in the previous books we have only ever scene them one at a time. We even got to see Lissa and Christian, I hope they play a bit more of a role in the next books.

The scene with Adrian and Sydney dancing was adorable, Adrian new he shouldn’t have done that he could of blew there cover easily and got both of them in immense trouble but Adrian does what Adrian wants to do.

I was completely thrown off guard with the Veronica-Alicia-witchy storyline, I didn’t expect it at all. I couldn’t even remember who Alicia was until it was explained. Definitely a very good and unexpected plotline. That is the plotline what boosted this book up before the golden lily and possibly even the first book bloodlines to my favourite.

The forbidden romance was amazingly frustrating. Even more frustrating than the Rose and Dimitri relationship in VA!

I am so glad they are finally together.

But approaching the end of the book things have just gotten really really difficult in maintaining there secrecy from the Alchemists and Moroi and Dhapmir. Basically the rest of the world.

I’m excited to see in the next book if I will like Zoe or not? And how Adrian and Sydneys relationship will unfold.

5/5 star book!

What did you guys think?

Favourite quote- You’re not as much of a lost cause as she was. I mean, with her, I had to overcome her deep, epic love with a Russian warlord. You and I just have to overcome hundreds of years’ worth of deeply ingrained prejudice and taboo between our two races. Easy.”

Song that reminds me of the book- The script- This=Love

One thought on “The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead book discussion

  1. Pingback: August book Wrap up |

Leave a Reply

